family portraits

Self-portrait:

And a painting of my brother, copied from a photograph of him as a child. The photo is so good I’ll have to post it here too some time.

Obviously they look pretty different. I haven’t figured out a good way to set up a mirror to paint myself yet, but also I think I was feeling a bit more experimental that day anyway. I’ve always been inspired by my aunt Jill and the way her paintings use big chunks of colours to suggest shapes and textures, though hopefully not to the point of being TOO super imitative! Lately I’ve also been looking at a lot of stuff using pastels or paints to create more of a light and hazy and gossamery effect but everyone I know is too ugly for that kind of style so what’s the point.

Kidding, of course, you cuties.

When did this song come out anyway, surely this little girl is like a teenager now? Ah, Pink was so pretty once, too. It’s so much easier to write about things that I didn’t draw or paint myself :/

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to family portraits

  1. elbrigaking says:

    Love your paintings, I don’t know why but those faces are hypnotizing. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

