reading room

What’ve you been up to lately? I’ve been working on zines! Here’s the cover of the second Sweet & Tender:

Err, you haven’t even read the first one yet, have you? About two people have. I’m going to post a link when it’s available to buy. If you fancy a trade, let me know! That could be fun.

Anyway, the theme of the first one was British Gloom and the theme of this one is Black Cats. That might sound pretty specific, but it’s going to be a bit looser than the name suggests, with bits on superstition, good luck and bad luck, my favourite magical fictional cats, why I’m not actually a cat person… and a bunch of just weird collages. I have a few pieces planned out but like the first one, I’ll probably discard most of them and write new things instead.

Here’s two pages of a zine I made for my friends. I’ve made a few of these little quarter-size (A6) ones to send to people I want to stay in touch with. Obviously I used a big shot of Beyoncé’s face.

This is what I’m reading at the moment. It’s a library book and I can’t recommend it highly enough! I’ve learned so many things, some useful and some useless but all fascinating. If you don’t think you have an aptitude for maths, this is a great way in, and I say that as someone who hasn’t formally studied maths in about… six years? It’s changing the way I think about mathematics completely, and constantly blows my mind. God, I love libraries!

This is a belated Christmas present! It took a while to get here but I finally have my copy of Tristram Shandy from Visual Editions. I wrote a blog post about this particular publisher ages ago because I thought the idea behind the company was so cool. I can’t wait to read it! I’m still trying to decide whether to start it before I finish that maths book.

Oh, and Happy Valentines Day! Download This Amazing Song By The Futureheads for someone special!

This entry was posted in books, zines and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to reading room

  1. Ingrid says:

    Hello! I got golden scales 1 from Vampire Sushi and really enjoyed it! I do a zine called Mythologising Me which Tukru also stocks, wanna trade for your second zine? x

    • Hi Ingrid!

      Firstly, I’m really, really, really sorry for taking so long to get back to you and reply to this comment. I just haven’t touched this blog in an age, but I’d really like to trade once I have made issue 2!

      xx
      xx

Leave a Reply

